List of Booker Prize Winners

Booker prize is perhaps the most important and prestigious prize when it comes to novel writing as the writer gains international recognition and prestige after getting Booker prize. Booker prize is given every year, given below is the list of Booker prize winners –

  1. P. H. Newby in 1969 for “Something to Answer For”
  2. Bernice Rubens in  1970 for “The Elected Member”
  3. V. S. Naipaul in 1971 for “In a Free State”
  4. John Berger in 1972 for “G”
  5. J. G. Farrell in the year 1973 for “The Siege of Krishnapur”
  6. Nadine Gordimer in 1974 for “The Conservationist
  7. Stanley Middleton in 1974 for “Holiday”
  8. Ruth Prawer Jhabvala in 1975 for “Heat and Dust”
  9. David Storey in 1976 for “Saville”
  10. Paul Scott in 1977 for “Staying On”
  11. Iris Murdoch in the year 1978 for “The Sea, the Sea”
  12. Penelope Fitzgerald in the year 1979 for “Offshore”
  13. William Golding in the year 1980 for “Rites of Passage”
  14. Salman Rushdie in the year 1981 for “Midnight’s Children”
  15. Thomas Keneally in the year 1982 for “Schindler’s Ark”
  16. J. M. Coetzee in the year 1983 for “Life & Times of Michael K”
  17. Anita Brookner in the year 1984 for “Hotel du Lac”
  18. Keri Hulme in the year 1985 for “The Bone People”
  19. Kingsley Amis in the year 1986 for “The Old Devils”
  20. Penelope Lively in the year 1987 for “Moon Tiger”
  21. Peter Carey in 1988 for “Oscar and Lucinda”
  22. Kazuo Ishiguro in 1989 for “The Remains of the Day”
  23. A. S. Byatt in 1990 for “Possession: A Romance”
  24. Ben Okri in 1991 for “The Famished Road”
  25. Michael Ondaatje in 1992 for “The English Patient”
  26. Barry Unsworth in 1992 for “Sacred Hunger”
  27. Roddy Doyle in 1993 for “Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha”
  28. James Kelman in 1994 for “How Late It Was, How Late”
  29. Pat Barker in 1995 for “The Ghost Road”
  30. Graham Swift in the year 1996 for “Last Orders”
  31. Arundhati Roy in 1997 for “The God of Small Things”
  32. Ian McEwan in 1998 for “Amsterdam”
  33. J. M. Coetzee in  1999 for “Disgrace”
  34. Margaret Atwood in 2000 for “The Blind Assassin”
  35. Peter Carey in 2001 for “True History of the Kelly Gang”
  36. Yann Martel in 2002 for “Life of Pi”
  37. DBC Pierre in 2003 for “Vernon God Little”
  38. Alan Hollinghurst in the year 2004 for “The Line of Beauty”
  39. John Banville in 2005 for “The Sea”
  40. Kiran Desai in 2006 for “The Inheritance of Loss”
  41. Anne Enright in 2007 for “The Gathering”
  42. Aravind Adiga in the year 2008 for “The White Tiger”
  43. Hilary Mantel in the year 2009 for “Wolf Hall”
  44. Howard Jacobson in the year 2010 for “The Finkler Question”
0 comments… add one

Leave a Comment